Home / CCU Today / Yangmingshan National Park
Yangmingshan National Park

Chinese Culture University’s campus is situated on Yangmingshan (mountain). It lies in direct neighborhood of the National Park area, within a ten minutes drive to the north. When subterranean movements caused a massive collision between the Philippines’ oceanic plate and the Eurasian continental plate millions of years ago, pressure caused violent volcanic activity, lifting up the Eurasian plate. Erupting volcanoes covered tertiary sedimentary rock with magma, forming the Tatun volcano group, including more than 20 volcanoes at the heart of Yangmingshan National Park. The park spreads from Shilin to Beitou, Tamsui, Sanzhi, Shimen, Jinshan and Wanli. It covers a total area of 11,338 hectares with elevations between 200 and 1120 meters above sea level. Yangmingshan National Park is famous for its unique topography, with signs of volcanic activity like fumaroles and hot springs in many places. There are currently some 1,359 species of plants in the park. Vegetation differs from that of other areas at similar latitudes, as the soil is unusually warm, lacking in calcium, and strongly acidic. The winter northeasterly monsoon brings abundant rainfall and low temperatures, so that subtropical rain forest, temperate evergreen broad-leaved forest, and mountain-ridge short grassy plains are found, as well as alpine plants.

In 1968, the Yangmingshan Management Bureau was formally taken over by the Taipei City Government. Yangmingshan (Yang-Ming Mountain) received its name on suggestion of local representatives, in honor of the well-reputed Ming dynasty philosopher Wang Yang-Ming (1472-1529), when the national park was established on September 16, 1985.