Home / CCU Today / Beautiful Taiwan
Beautiful Taiwan

The Republic of China, originally based in mainland China, now governs the island of Taiwan, which includes the island of Taiwan proper as well as Penghu, Jinmen, Matsu, and other minor islands. Formerly known as "Formosa", Taiwan was mainly inhabited by Taiwanese aborigines, until the Dutch and Spanish settlements in the 17th century, and Han Chinese people immigration.

Today, there are three main languages spoken in Taiwan: Mandarin Chinese, Hokkien, and Hakka. Among the 23 mio inhabitants, there are about 70 percent Buddhists, but many different religions co-exist peacefully and in mutual respect. Also, there are currently 14 acknowledged aboriginal tribes living on the island. Taiwan is an advanced industrial economy with highly developed infrastructure, which makes modern life easy and convenient. Since the early 1990s, Taiwan has developed into a multi-party democracy, semi-presidential constitutional republic. A modern healthcare system has been established, and the island-wide transportation system is excellent, reliable and comfortable. Sitting on the western edge of the Pacific "rim of fire," continuous tectonic movements have created majestic peaks, rolling hills and plains, and Taiwan's tropical, sub-tropical, and temperate climates create an abundant natural environment that had originally inspired the Portuguese discoverers to call the island “Formosa”. There is a typhoon season from June to October, with several typhoons of different strength; and earthquakes occur frequently but mostly with minor impact. Come and enjoy the beauty of Taiwan!